06. 05. 2018

NCAA M: For the first time in 27 years, Long Beach become national champions (VIDEO)

Source:,; Photo:

918 0

Long Beach State were crowned 2018 NCAA Men’s Volleyball Championship winners.


The top-seed Long Beach State 49ers went all the way in the 2018 NCAA Men’s Volleyball Championship, losing only one game this season with 28 wins on their account.

The Big West Conference winners confirmed their domination in the collegiate tournament by downing Round of 6 hosts UCLA Bruins (26-8, at-large) in the Championship Finals in front of 7,248 spectators (slightly more than half the capacity of the gymnasium) at Pauley Pavilion, in Los Angeles, California.

The 49ers were 1-2 down before winning two sets in a row to clinch their second national title in the history of the school’s volleyball program, the first in 27 years, 3-2 (25-19, 23-25, 20-25, 26-24, 15-12).

Junior opposite Kyle Ensing topped Long Beach with 28 points (4 aces and 4 kill blocks), while junior middle blocker Nick Amado made 6 kill blocks. The Canadian Daenan Gyimah, sophomore middle blocker, scored 25 points for the UCLA. Junior outside hitter Dylan Missry served 6 aces, while junior setter Micah Ma’a recorded 4 kill blocks.

Long Beach setter Josh Tuaniga was named Most Outstanding Player of the tournament.


SUBSCRIBE to have full access to WoV PROFILES, STATS, and WoVVIDEO.

Discover what's new in the volleyball world.

Choose Amount
Do you find this article useful?
+0   Yes     No   0-

No comments on this topic.

Post a comment


Latest comments

TUR W: Another contract extension in Vakifbank - Kubra Akman!

I like her. I think she has improved more than Gunes but Gunes is younger. Maybe that's why she got a 3 year contract instead of Gunes's two. Reply

TUR W: Zehra Gunes pens a new deal with Vakifbank!

Ms. Güneş is beautiful. She has improved but still got a way to go to be considered a world class middle blocker. Reply

CHN W: Zhu Ting returning to play in China, Larson following her footsteps?

Re: @Cjango
Their goal is winning World Club Championship Reply