23. 11. 2017

VINTAGE VOLLEYBALL: With this block Cuba won the second gold at World Championship 1994 (VIDEO)

3038 0

In the final of the Women's World Championship 1994 in Brazil, Cuba defeated Brazil 3-0 (15-2, 15-10, 15-5) and won the second gold for their country in this competition.

Brazil played the World Championship on the home soil with the desire to win the gold. But, mighty Cuba didn't allow that. They dominated during the whole match and when the Cuban team put the block for the last point in the match, the celebration started. 

Regla Radameris Torres  was the leader of the Cuban team and she was named for the MVP.

These are the players that managed to win the gold medal at the World Championship 1994:

Regla Bell, Mercedes Calderón, Magalys Carvajal, Marlenys Costa, Ana Fernández, Mirka Francia, Idalmis Gato, Mireya Luis Hernández, Lilia Izquierdo, Sonia Lescaille, Tania Ortíz and Regla Torres. Head Coach: Eugenio George Lafita.

Watch other interesting videos from the past by visiting VINTAGE VOLLEYBALL.

Subscribe to have full access to WoV PROFILES, STATS and WoVVIDEO.

Receive email notifications about players' or teams' latest STATS and VIDEOS.

Discover what's new in the volleyball world.

Choose Amount
Do you find this article useful?
+1   Yes     No   0-

No comments on this topic.

Post a comment


Latest comments

POL M: Young Australian coach Reynolds will command Jastrzębski next season

All this because volleyball is not e real professional sport and many clubs are managed with people with (almost) zero experience and knowledge in volleyball. And they manage money from state companies or government directly. Do not expect that that people will think differently. That is why volleyball will never move to another level and will always have some small “make up” in the future Reply

POL M: Young Australian coach Reynolds will command Jastrzębski next season

Many Strength and Conditioning Coaches/Scoutman are trying to get into coaching. Due to their lack of experience and knowledge, at first, they take a major pay cut in comparison to actual volleyball coaches. Currently, coaching jobs are paying very little, even in the top leagues, and some of the experienced coaches are not taking jobs for 25.000-40.000 EUR, knowing that demands are just as high as before when they were making double of this salary. Unfortunately, club leaderships see coaches as a disposable matter and therefore keep dropping salaries because there are candidates that will take these jobs. I am not here to judge, just to describe some of the dynamics around this profession. Reply

POL M: Young Australian coach Reynolds will command Jastrzębski next season

Interesting trend, that some coaches who specialised on physical training, some who never played volleyball on top level, became pretty successful volleyball coaches. It can be observed in some menś and women teams. It reflects a situation that volleyball has become a very physical sport. Even the world champion country, which in past had taught others, needs coaches from abroad who come into this category. Reply