Home » CZE M: České Budějovice win national title for 10th time in club history

CZE M: České Budějovice win national title for 10th time in club history

by WoV
source: cvf.cz; Photo: volejbalcb.cz

VK Jihostroj České Budějovice won the Czech Men’s Volleyball Championship for the 10th time in the club history.



In a super-exciting 2018/19 UNIQA Extraliga muži playoff finals, the top seed VK Jihostroj České Budějovice (regular season 18-4; 51 points) and No.2 seed VK Dukla Liberec took turns in the series lead so, the fifth game had to decided who will be the new Czech titleholders. In it, České Budějovice cruised to a straight-set victory (25-23, 25-21, 25-20), making an incredible comeback in the third set from 13-18 to 23-18!

Radek Mach and Petr Michálek top-scored for České Budějovice in Game 5 with 12 points apiece. The latter made 79% attack (11/14, 2 errors). Legendary opposite hitter Jan Štokr notched 18 points for Liberec, finishing the season as the league’s best scorer with 619 points.

2018/19 UNIQA Extraliga muži playoff finals – Game 5:

(1) VK Jihostroj České Budějovice – (2) VK Dukla Liberec 3-0 (25-23, 25-21, 25-20), series 3-2



Since you are here…

…we have a small favor to ask. WorldofVolley is one of the most popular volleyball websites in the world that provides many volleyball news daily. We are covering many worldwide competitions, trying to inform all of our fans by publishing the breaking news.

Since we want to keep our future much secure, consider this donate button as a way to support our work and to help us grow.


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.