Home » AVC M: Second day of the Asian Championship – results

AVC M: Second day of the Asian Championship – results

by WoV
source: AVC

On the second day of the Asian Championship, Qatar took the first victory, while Australia, China, Iran, Chinese Taipei, Korea and Pakistan were successful in their second appearance and secured their second victory in the preliminary stage of the Asian Championship in Japan.

Ibrahim (QAT) in attack – Photo: AVC

Qatar achieved its first victory in Pool A of the 21st Asian Senior Men’s Volleyball Championship, after a 3-0 victory (25-22, 25-14, 25-20) against India. Qatar national team captain Ibrahim Ibrahim was the team top scorer with 12 points, while Indian Charles Jerome Vinith was the top scorer of the match with 19 points.

Pakistan achieved second victory in Pool B by beating Hong Kong 3-1 (25-16, 24-26, 25-11, 25-12). Ali Usman Faryad of Pakistan was the top scorer of the match with 20 points.

Iran defeated Thailand 3-0 (25-17, 25-12, 25-18) in the second match of the Pool B. Iranian opposite Saber Kazemi led all scorers with 16 points (9 attack, 7 on serve).

In other matches, China, Australia, Chinese Taipei and Korea won their matches on the second day of the Asian Championship, while the match between hosts Japan and Bahrain is still ongoing. 

September 13, 2021

Pool A
India – Qatar 0-3 (22-25, 14-25, 20-25)
Bahrain – Japan

Pool B
Hong Kong – Pakistan 1-3 (16-25, 24-26, 11-25, 12-25)
Iran – Thailand 3-0 (25-17, 25-12, 25-18)

Pool C
Uzbekistan – China 0-3 (14-25, 18-25, 16-25)
Australia – Kuwait 3-0 (25-21, 25-14, 25-9)

Pool D

Saudi Arabia – Chinese Taipei 0-3 (15-25, 16-25, 17-25)
Korea – Kazakhstan 3-0 (25-21, 25-17, 25-16)


16 national teams divided into 4 groups are participating in the 21st edition of the Asian Championship. Hosts Japan, India, Qatar and Bahrain are in Pool A, current Asian champions Iran, Pakistan, Thailand and Hong Kong China in Pool B, Pool C consists of Australia, China, Uzbekistan and Kuwait, while in Pool D are Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia.

Pool A: Japan, India, Qatar, Bahrain

Pool B: Iran, Pakistan, Thailand, Hong Kong China

Pool C: Australia, China, Uzbekistan, Kuwait

Pool D: Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia

In the 21st edition in Japan, the teams will play in a single round-robin format during the preliminary round. The two best teams from each group will advance to the top 8 teams which will be divided into group E (A, C) and group F (B, D) to play again in a single round-robin format with transferred results and points from the matches between teams from the same groups that had already played during the preliminary round.The two best teams from Pool E and Pool F will advance to the semifinals, while the other 4 teams will remain in competition from 5th to 8th place. The same game format will be applied to the remaining 8 lower-ranked teams.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.