Home » AVC M: Japan secured the top of Pool A by defeating Bahrain in the last game of the second day

AVC M: Japan secured the top of Pool A by defeating Bahrain in the last game of the second day

by WoV
source: AVC

After the last game of the second day at the Asian Championship, only one place for placement in the 8 best teams remained unknown. Japan defeated Bahrain 3-1 in the last game of the day and secured first place in Group A. With maximum output, Japan enters the next stage of the competition, among the top 8 teams in the competition.

Photo: AVC

Before tomorrow’s last matches in the preliminary stage, Japan, Iran, China, Korea, Chinese Taipei, Pakistan and Australia already secured their place in the top 8 teams of the Asian Championship. Tomorrow’s match between Qatar and Bahrain will decide who will take second place in Group A and fill that last open spot among the top 8 teams in the tournament.

September 13, 2021 – results

Pool A
India – Qatar 0-3 (22-25, 14-25, 20-25)
Bahrain – Japan 1-3 (25-23, 17-25, 23-25, 16-25)

Pool B
Hong Kong – Pakistan 1-3 (16-25, 24-26, 11-25, 12-25)
Iran – Thailand 3-0 (25-17, 25-12, 25-18)

Pool C
Uzbekistan – China 0-3 (14-25, 18-25, 16-25)
Australia – Kuwait 3-0 (25-21, 25-14, 25-9)

Pool D

Saudi Arabia – Chinese Taipei 0-3 (15-25, 16-25, 17-25)
Korea – Kazakhstan 3-0 (25-21, 25-17, 25-16)


16 national teams divided into 4 groups are participating in the 21st edition of the Asian Championship. Hosts Japan, India, Qatar and Bahrain are in Pool A, current Asian champions Iran, Pakistan, Thailand and Hong Kong China in Pool B, Pool C consists of Australia, China, Uzbekistan and Kuwait, while in Pool D are Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia.

Pool A: Japan, India, Qatar, Bahrain

Pool B: Iran, Pakistan, Thailand, Hong Kong China

Pool C: Australia, China, Uzbekistan, Kuwait

Pool D: Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia

In the 21st edition in Japan, the teams will play in a single round-robin format during the preliminary round. The two best teams from each group will advance to the top 8 teams which will be divided into group E (A, C) and group F (B, D) to play again in a single round-robin format with transferred results and points from the matches between teams from the same groups that had already played during the preliminary round.The two best teams from Pool E and Pool F will advance to the semifinals, while the other 4 teams will remain in competition from 5th to 8th place. The same game format will be applied to the remaining 8 lower-ranked teams.

The Continental Championship is also a qualifying tournament for the World Championship in Russia next year. Two first-placed teams from the continental tournament will qualify for the World Championship. The two best teams from five Continental Championships will secure a place at the 2022 World Championship. The remaining 12 places will go to the top 12 teams according to the FIVB World Rankings for teams that have not yet qualified, while the host country Russia and current world champions Poland automatically qualified for the competition.

September 14, 2021 – Schedule

Pool A
Bahrain – Qatar
India – Japan

Pool B
Iran – Pakistan
Hong Kong – Thailand

Pool C
Uzbekistan – Kuwait
Australia – China

Pool D

Saudi Arabia – Kazakhstan
Korea – Chinese Taipei

Related Articles

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.