Home » Countdown to 2014 Men’s World Championship begun

Countdown to 2014 Men’s World Championship begun

by WoV
source: fivb.org; Photo: facebook.com

The final countdown to the 2014 Men’s Volleyball World Championship has begun and in just one year’s time, all attention will be on Poland as it hosts the tournament for the first time in its history.

2014 Men’s Volleyball World Championship logo

2014 Men’s Volleyball World Championship logo

Poland is no stranger to hosting high level volleyball events, having staged the FIVB World League Finals in 2010, 2007 and 2001 in addition to age-group World Championships and the inaugural edition of the World Cup.

Despite the Polish men’s team having won the World Championship title in 1974 and finishing second in 2006, at no stage have they hosted the key event.

The championship will feature 24 teams of which only the hosts are automatically qualified.

The volleyball matches of are scheduled to take place in the arenas of the following six cities:

– Bydgoszcz, “Hala Łuczniczka”

– Sopot/Gdańsk, “Ergo Arena”

– Katowice, “Spodek”

– Łódź, “Atlas Arena”

– Kraków, “Hala Czyżyny”

– Wrocław, “Hala Stulecia”

Argentina and Brazil were the first to qualify for the 2014 Men’s World Championship and other Confederations have already begun their qualifying process.

The FIVB Men’s Volleyball World Championship takes place every four years and the 2010 edition was hosted by Italy where Brazil secured their third straight title.

The winner of next year’s will qualify Men’s World Championship for the FIVB Volleyball World Cup in 2015, which is the first Olympic qualification event for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Check out Latest news.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment