Home » TUR W: Vakifbank returned the title home; Zhu MVP

TUR W: Vakifbank returned the title home; Zhu MVP

by WoV

Vakifbank Istanbul lifted their 10th trophy in the Turkish Sultanlar Ligi.

Vakifbank Champions of 2017/2018

Vakifbank champions

In the fifth final match of the Turkish Sultanlar Ligi, Vakifbank once again crushed Eczacibasi in straight sets (25-23, 25-23, 25-20) and won the 10th title in the club history. For the coach Guidetti, this is his fourth title.

When it was most important, Zhu Ting showed that she is the leader. She scored 20 points (25-17, 68%) and was unstoppable while Lonneke Slöetjes finished the match with 15 points. 

In Eczacibasi, Tijana Bošković (12) and Jordan Larson-Burbach (11) were the top scorers but their play wasn’t enough.

Somehow, seem that they were emotionally emptied after 2-1 in the series and after that, they were not able to return to the right path.

Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul – Vakifbank Istanbul 0-3 (23-25, 23-25, 20-25); in series: 2-3

Eczacibasi: Ognjenovic 1, Larson 11, Kilicli 8, Boskovic 12, Ismailoglu 6, Arici 5, Akoz (L); Baladin 0, Adams 2, Dilik 2. NE: G. Yilmaz, Onal, Domac, Bagci (L). Coach: Motta.

Vakifbank: Ozbay 1, G. Kirdar 8, Rasic 5, Sloetjes 15, Zhu Ting 20, Gunes 5, Orge Guner (L); Robinson 1, Aykac 0, Aydemir Akyol 1. NE: Akman Caliskan, Gurkaynak, Karakurt, Senoglu. Coach: Guidetti. 



After the final match TVF awarded the best players of 2017/2018:

MVP – Zhu Ting (Vakifbank)

Best attacker – Gözde Kirdar Sonsirma (Vakifbank)

Best setter – Cansu Özbay (Vakifbank)

Best libero Gizem Hatice Örge – (Vakifbank)

Best blocker – Beyza Arici (Eczacibasi)

Special award – Zehra Gunes (Vakifbank) 


To see complete results, stats and standings, visit our TUR National championship 2017/2018 (Female) page.


SUBSCRIBE to have full access to WoV PROFILES, STATS, and WoVVIDEO.

Discover what’s new in the volleyball world.

Related Articles

0 comment

Peter April 26, 2018 - 8:02 pm

Zhu! Zhu! Zhu!

BRAZILvolleygirl April 27, 2018 - 11:38 pm

The only non-Turkish player who got an award is Zhu Ting and this is not right because foreign players are far better than Turkish players.
Why did they give a special award to a player who played only in two matches!! BIASED!!


Leave a Comment



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.