Home » IVHF Announces 2024 Induction Class and Special Award Winners

IVHF Announces 2024 Induction Class and Special Award Winners

by WoV
source:  International Volleyball Hall of Fame (IVHF)
Photo:  International Volleyball Hall of Fame (IVHF)

The International Volleyball Hall of Fame (IVHF) announced its 2024 induction class via video, with the ceremony set for October 19 in Holyoke, Massachusetts. The class features nine distinguished individuals, including five fan-voted favorites.


  • Ana Paula Henkel (Brazil, Beach Player): Four-time Olympian and renowned beach volleyball player.
  • Tim Hovland (USA, Beach Player): Winner of 60 titles, including six Manhattan Beach Opens.
  • Regla Bell (Cuba, Indoor Player): Three-time Olympic gold medalist.
  • Andrea Zorzi (Italy, Indoor Player): Two-time World Champion with the Italian Men’s National Team.
  • Jose “Zé Roberto” Guimarães (Brazil, Coach): Only coach to win Olympic gold with both men’s and women’s teams.
  • Hadi Rezaei (Iran, ParaVolley): Most decorated coach in sitting volleyball history.
  • Juan Angel Pereyra (Argentina, Official/Referee): International official for 24 years.
  • Sue Lemaire (USA, Official/Referee): First female international official from the U.S.
  • Giuseppe Panini (Italy, Leader): Influential volleyball leader and founder of Modena Volley.

Special Awards:

  • John Kessel (Mintonette Medallion of Merit Award): Grassroots volleyball legend.
  • Bill Kauffman and Ed Chan (Award for Media Excellence): Recognized posthumously for their contributions to volleyball media.
  • Mayoral Award of Excellence: Former Massachusetts State Senators and Representatives Mike Knapik, Mike Kane, Aaron Vega, and Don Humason for legislative efforts.

IVHF Board President Steve Bishop expressed excitement about welcoming the new inductees and special award winners, emphasizing the Hall’s mission to honor volleyball legends and their stories. Executive Director George Mulry highlighted the global diversity and impact of the 2024 inductees.

The induction ceremony on October 19 is open to the public, with tickets available online. Volleyball fans can also join the IVHF membership for exclusive content. The IVHF, located in Holyoke, continues to preserve and celebrate volleyball history with over 167 inductees from 26 countries.

For more information, visit IVHF’s website or email info@ivhf.org.

Source:  International Volleyball Hall of Fame (IVHF)

Related Articles

Leave a Comment