Home » AVC M: Asian Championship – the results of the first day and the schedule of the next round

AVC M: Asian Championship – the results of the first day and the schedule of the next round

by WoV
source: AVC

The 21st Asian Senior Men’s Volleyball Championship began in Japan. Hosts Japan, Australia, Bahrain, China, Iran, Korea, Pakistan and Chinese Taipei achieved victories in the first matches of the preliminary round.

Japan – Qatar – Photo: AVC

16 national teams divided into 4 groups are participating in the 21st edition of the Asian Championship. Hosts Japan, India, Qatar and Bahrain are in Pool A, current Asian champions Iran, Pakistan, Thailand and Hong Kong China in Pool B, Pool C consists of Australia, China, Uzbekistan and Kuwait, while in Pool D are Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia.

Pool A: Japan, India, Qatar, Bahrain

Pool B: Iran, Pakistan, Thailand, Hong Kong China

Pool C: Australia, China, Uzbekistan, Kuwait

Pool D: Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia

In the 21st edition in Japan, the teams will play in a single round-robin format during the preliminary round. The two best teams from each group will advance to the top 8 teams which will be divided into group E (A, C) and group F (B, D) to play again in a single round-robin format with transferred results and points from the matches between teams from the same groups that had already played during the preliminary round.The two best teams from Pool E and Pool F will advance to the semifinals, while the other 4 teams will remain in competition from 5th to 8th place. The same game format will be applied to the remaining 8 lower-ranked teams.

September 12, 2012

Pool A

Japan – Qatar 3-0 ( 25-20, 25-23, 25-21) 

Bahrain – India 3-0  (27-25, 25-21, 25-21)

Pool B

Pakistan – Thailand 3-2 (22-25,25-23, 21-25, 25-23,15-12)

Iran – Hong Kong 3-0 (25-12, 25-18, 25-19)

Pool C 

China – Kuwait 3-0 (25-12, 25-16, 25-18)

Australia – Uzbekistan 3-0 (25-16, 25-19, 25-19)

Pool D

Chinese Taipei – Kazakhstan 3-0 (25-20, 25-22, 25-19)

Korea – Saudi Arabia 3-0 (25-18, 25-17, 25-20) 


September 13, 2021

Pool A
India – Qatar
Bahrain – Japan

Pool B
Hong Kong – Pakistan
Iran – Thailand

Pool C
Uzbekistan – China
Australia – Kuwait

Pool D
Saudi Arabia – Chinese Taipei
Korea – Kazakhstan

The Continental Championship is also a qualifying tournament for the World Championship in Russia next year. Two first-placed teams from the continental tournament will qualify for the World Championship. The two best teams from five Continental Championships will secure a place at the 2022 World Championship. The remaining 12 places will go to the top 12 teams according to the FIVB World Rankings for teams that have not yet qualified, while the host country Russia and current world champions Poland automatically qualified for the competition.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.