Home » AVC M: Japan defeated Chinese Taipei for the Asian Championship Finals

AVC M: Japan defeated Chinese Taipei for the Asian Championship Finals

by WoV
source: AVC

With the victory over Chinese Taipei 3-1 (25-16, 22-25, 25-21, 25-20), Japan advanced to the finals of the Asian Championship. Japan and Iran confirmed their primacy in Asia and by placing in the finals secured a place at the 2022 World Championship in Russia.

Photo: AVC

Yuki Ishikawa led Japan in a win over Chinese Taipei with 16 points, Haku Ri (Lee Haku) and Kenta Takanashi added 15. Japan suffered only one defeat in this championship, while Iran is undefeated so far and with only one set lost. Liu Hung Min of Chinese Taipei was the top scorer of the match with 18 point, while Wu Tsung Hsuan added 16.

Yuki Ishikawa (JPN) – Photo: AVC

Tomorrow, hosts Japan and Iran will clash in the match for the gold medal, while the Chinese Taipei and China will play in the match for the bronze. Match for 5th place will be between Qatar and Australia. All final matches are scheduled for tomorrow.


Gold medal match

Japan – Iran

Bronze medal match

Kina – Chinese Taipei

5th place match

Qatar – Australia

7th place match

Pakistan – Korea

1-4 place matches:


China – Iran 1-3 (22-25, 25-17, 22-25, 17-25)

Japan – Chinese Taipei 3-1 (25-16, 22-25, 25-21, 25-20)

5-8 place matches:

Qatar – Korea 3-0 (25-16, 32-30, 25-22)

Australia – Pakistan 3-0 (25-16, 26-24, 25-23)

Pool E (Qatar, Australia, China, Japan)

Qatar – Australia 3-0 (25-20, 25-20, 25-21)

Japan – China 1-3 (19-25, 29-27, 21-25, 19-25)

Qatar – China 2-3 (26-28, 25-21, 28-26, 19-25, 10-15)

Japan – Australia 3-0 (25-23, 25-17, 25-23)

Pool F (Pakistan, Chinese Taipei, Iran, Korea)

Pakistan – Chinese Taipei 1-3 (20-25, 25-22, 23-25, 22-25)

Iran – Korea 3-0 (25-19, 25-18, 25-20)

Pakistan – Korea 3-0  (25-23, 25-22, 25-14)

Iran – Chinese Taipei 3-0 (25-10, 25-23, 25-11)


Pool G (Kuwait, India, Uzbekistan, Bahrain)

India – Kuwait 3-0 (25-20, 25-20, 25-20)

Bahrain – Uzbekistan 3-0 (25-19, 27-25, 25-19)

India – Uzbekistan 3-0 (25-19, 25-13, 25-22)

Bahrain – Kuwait 3-0 (25-21, 25-19, 25-19)

Pool H (Thailand, Kazakhstan, Hong Kong, Saudi Arabia)

Thailand – Kazakhstan 1-3 (25-28, 23-25, 19-25, 22-25)

Hong Kong – Saudi Arabia 0-3 (12-25, 18-25, 19-25)

Hong Kong – Kazakhstan 0-3 (16-25, 21-25, 16-25)

Thailand – Saudi Arabia 1-3 (20-25, 25-20, 19-25, 22-25)


16 national teams were divided into 4 groups. Hosts Japan, India, Qatar and Bahrain were in Pool A, current Asian champions Iran, Pakistan, Thailand and Hong Kong China in Pool B, Pool C consisted of Australia, China, Uzbekistan and Kuwait, while in Pool D were Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia.

Pool A: Japan, India, Qatar, Bahrain

Pool B: Iran, Pakistan, Thailand, Hong Kong China

Pool C: Australia, China, Uzbekistan, Kuwait

Pool D: Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia

In the 21st edition in Japan, the teams played in a single round-robin format during the preliminary round. The two best teams from each group advanced to the top 8 teams which are divided into group E (A, C) and group F (B, D) to play again in a single round-robin format with transferred results and points from the matches between teams from the same groups that had already played during the preliminary round.The two best teams from Pool E and Pool F will advance to the semifinals, while the other 4 teams will remain in competition from 5th to 8th place. The same game format will be applied to the remaining 8 lower-ranked teams.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.