Home » FIVB Announces 12 Women’s Teams Qualified for Paris 2024 Olympics

FIVB Announces 12 Women’s Teams Qualified for Paris 2024 Olympics

by WoV
source: Volleyball World
Team USA, Tokyo 2020 – Photo: Volleyball World

The FIVB and Volleyball World announced the 12 women’s national teams qualified for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games:

  • Brazil: Qualified as runners-up in the Pool B qualifier. Consistent participants since 1980, with two golds (2008, 2012).
  • China: Highest-placed Asian team, with three gold medals (1984, 2004, 2016).
  • Dominican Republic: Topped Pool A in Ningbo. Fourth Olympic appearance.
  • France: Host nation debuting in women’s volleyball.
  • Italy: Secured a spot via world ranking. Seventh consecutive Olympics.
  • Japan: Claimed one of the final spots via world ranking. 14th Olympic appearance, two golds (1964, 1976).
  • Kenya: Highest-placed African team. Fourth appearance, seeking first win.
  • Netherlands: Last team to qualify, via world ranking. Fourth appearance, best finish is fourth place.
  • Poland: Runners-up in Pool C. Fourth Olympic appearance, with two bronzes (1964, 1968).
  • Serbia: Pool A runners-up. Fifth consecutive Olympics, with a silver (2016) and bronze (2020).
  • Türkiye: Won all matches in Pool B. Third Olympic appearance, best finish is fifth place.
  • USA: Reigning champions, topped Pool C. 11th consecutive Olympics, with one gold (2020).
Photo: Volleyball World

The tournament will be held from July 27 to August 11 at the South Paris Arena.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.