Home » POL W: Dinamo MOSCOW wins Memorial Agata Mroz-Olszewska

POL W: Dinamo MOSCOW wins Memorial Agata Mroz-Olszewska

by WoV
source: cev.lu

This weekend the splendid “Spodek” hall in the city of Katowice played host to the fourth edition of the Memorial Agata Mroz-Olszewska, the international tournament that commemorates the double European champion that prematurely passed away in 2008.


Katowice, Poland

The tournament was eventually claimed by Russia’s Dinamo MOSCOW that scored three wins in as many matches conceding only one set to their opponents. Second finished Poland’s Tauron MKS DABROWA GORNICZA with the podium being completed by Crvena Zvezda BEOGRAD of Serbia. Azerrail BAKU settled for fourth place after losing all of their matches.

The event featured four teams that are all set to participate in the 2013 CEV Volleyball Champions League; Dinamo MOSCOW opened by edging Azerrail in straight sets (25-21, 25-15, and 25-18) while DABROWA GORNICZA got past Crvena Zvezda 3:1 (23-25, 25-17, 25-12, and 25-15).

On Saturday Crvena Zvezda surprisingly beat Azerrail 3:2 (25-23, 20-25, 25-15, 16-25, and 17-15) while Dinamo MOSCOW downed Tauron MKS in straight sets (25-21, 25-23, and 25-22).

In the last day of action, Dinamo consolidated its supremacy by besting Crvena Zvezda 3:1 (21-25, 25-13, 25-19, and 25-17) while DABROWA GORNICZA cruised to a 3:0 win over Azerrail to round out the program (25-20, 25-19, and 25-16).

Agata Mroz-Olszewska, a former European champion, was also a triple national champion in Poland with BKS Stal BIELSKO BIALA and even won the Spanish national league once as she played for Grupo 2002 MURCIA. She died on June 4, 2008, at the age of 26 after undergoing a bonne marrow transplantation to treat the melodysplasia she was suffering of.

The Volleyball tournament in her memory includes many other activities and is meant to raise awareness about the donation and possible transplantation of bone marrow. The event is always joined by athletes, artists, members of charities and even doctors and other scientists.

Final standings

1.    Dinamo MOSCOW (RUS)
3.    Crvena Zvezda BEOGRAD (SRB)
4.    Azerrail BAKU (AZE)

Individual Awards

MVP: Natasa Osmokrovic (CRO/Dinamo MOSCOW)
Best Spiker: Katarzyna Zaroslinska (POL/Tauron MKS DABROWA GORNICZA)
Best Blocker: Jovana Stevanovic (SRB/Crvena Zvezda BEOGRAD)
Best Setter: Magdalena Sliwa (POL/Tauron MKS DABROWA GORNICZA)
Best Receiver: Anastasia Markova (RUS/Dinamo MOSCOW)
Best Libero: Teodora Pusic (SRB/Crvena Zvezda BEOGRAD)
Best Server: Natalia Nuszel (POL/Tauron MKS DABROWA GORNICZA)

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.