Home » RUS M: Zenit Kazan win 10th championship title in last 12 years (VIDEO)

RUS M: Zenit Kazan win 10th championship title in last 12 years (VIDEO)

by WoV
source: volleyservice.ru; Photo: twitter.com/volleyzenit

Zenit Kazan became titleholders of the Russian men’s volleyball championship Superliga for the fifth time in a row as they made a sweep of Zenit Sankt-Peterburg in the 2017/18 playoff finals.



With the exception of Game 2, the top-seed Zenit Kazan dominated the 2017/18 playoff finals against No.5 Zenit Sankt-Peterburg and clinched their fifth Superliga title, 10th overall. Furthermore, the team from the Russian republic of Tatarstan won all of these 10 gold medals in the last 12 years.

Not even more than 7,000 spectators at a magnificent Sibur Arena in Saint Petersburg did not disturb Zenit Kazan players in their quest for the championship trophy – 3-0 (25-21, 25-22, 25-22) in Game 3. This was the result of the series as well.

Maksim Mikhailov topped the winners with 20 points (4 aces, 2 kill blocks), followed by Cuban Wilfredo León, who scored 16. León’s compatriot Oreol Camejo delivered 17 points for Zenit Sankt-Peterburg.


To see complete results, stats, and standings, visit our RUS National Championship 2017/2018 / Male / Seniors page.


SUBSCRIBE to have full access to WoV PROFILES, STATS, and WoVVIDEO.

Discover what’s new in the volleyball world.

Related Articles

0 comment

Sorin Acela April 29, 2018 - 8:17 am

How about ‘in he last 14 years’? 😀


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.