Home » BRA M: Cruzeiro libero Serginho makes BRUTAL save… but was it in accordance with rules?! (VIDEO)

BRA M: Cruzeiro libero Serginho makes BRUTAL save… but was it in accordance with rules?! (VIDEO)

by WoV

When title contenders in the Brazilian Men’s Volleyball Championship Superliga meet, whatever their names are, you can always expect some amazing moves but also a bit of fuss on the floor...

In one rally in the finish of the fourth set of the last night’s derby, Sada Cruzeiro libero Sérgio Nogueira ’Serginho’ made a SURREAL leg save versus EMS Taubaté Funvic – a slide tackle, in football jargon – helping his team win a point that seemed to be lost!


A post shared by WorldofVolley (@wofvolley) onNov 2, 2017 at 6:16am PDT


But, there’s a catch in this – since the rally was underway after Serginho made the save, and he remained on the rival’s side of the court, according to the rules, the referee should have ended it and award the point to Taubaté. He made an obvious oversight, perhaps he did not want to spoil such a move from Serginho, and allowed the rally to be continued. Logically, Taubaté players were furious with the umpire and the second referee. Their setter Raphael Oliveira ’Rapha’ was the loudest and most temperament in protesting and was red-carded. So, because of this, one more point was awarded to Cruzeiro, who got themselves the set ball.


See more interesting videos by visiting section Volleyball Video.

Subscribe to have full access to WoV PROFILES, STATS, and WoVVIDEO.

Receive email notifications about players’ or teams’ latest STATS and VIDEOS.

Discover what’s new in a volleyball world.

Related Articles

0 comment

M. November 3, 2017 - 9:21 am

The play is legal.

Quoting from fivb rules 2017-2020:

Penetration into the opponent’s court, beyond the centre line: to touch the opponent’s court with a foot (feet) is permitted, provided that some part of the penetrating foot (feet) remains either in contact
with or directly above the centre line; to touch the opponent’s court with any part of the body above the feet is permitted provided that it does not interfere with the opponent’s play

nope November 3, 2017 - 2:46 pm

Re: @M. his feet completely went over the center line so it is a fault. It doesn’t matter if it is up in the air or not. The rule completely states that the whole foot must not penetrate the opponent’s side. Read ‘any part of the body above the foot.’ It does not say the foot must be above the body for the play to be legal. Just that the whole foot must not cross the opponent side. You are wrong like the referee.


Leave a Comment



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.