Home » Qualification for EuroVolley 2019: Tomorrow on schedule 24 matches

Qualification for EuroVolley 2019: Tomorrow on schedule 24 matches

by WoV

From tomorrow, August 15 until January 9, 2019, the 50 teams - 24 women's and 26 in men's, will fight for 12 spots in each gender for the spot at the European Championship 2019.



The 2019 EuroVolley will be a truly historic one – with as many as 48 teams – 24 per gender – participating in the Final Round and eight countries playing host to the ultimate Volleyball party. 

France, Slovenia, Belgium and the Netherlands will organize the men’s EuroVolley as Turkey, Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic will host the top teams in women’s Volleyball. With 12 teams already qualified for each of the two championships, there are another 24 spots. 

The qualification process in men’s category features 26 teams competing across seven pools. Five pools are with four and two with three teams respectively, all pool winners and the five runners-up with the best result will participate in the 2019 Men’s EuroVolley. Since there is a different number of teams across the seven pools, the results of the matches played with the teams finishing last in the pools of four will be discarded in order to determine the five best runners-up across all pools. Teams in the same pool will be playing each other twice, once at home and once away as per the schedule below. 

In women’s category, the qualification process for the 2019 edition features 24 teams competing across six pools. Each pool has four teams, the winners and runners-up of each pool will participate in the 2019 Women’s EuroVolley. Teams in the same pool will be playing each other twice, once at home and once away.

Matches, August 15:


Pool A: Romania – Denmark

Pool B: Israel – Latvia

Pool C: Slovakia – Iceland, Moldova – Montenegro

Pool D: Portugal – Albania, Austria – Croatia

Pool E: Spain – Georgia, Belarus – Norway

Pool F: Ukraine – Switzerland, Hungary – FYRO Macedonia

Pool G: Greece – Luxemburg, Azerbaijan – Sweden



Pool A: Belgium – Iceland, Slovenia – Israel

Pool B: Croatia – Albania, Austria – Switzerland

Pool C: Ukraine – Norway, Greece – Montenegro

Pool D: France – Denmark, Georgia – Portugal

Pool E: Czech – Sweden, Estonia – Finland

Pool F: Romania – Bosnia and Herzegovina, Latvia – Spain


SUBSCRIBE to have full access to WoV PROFILES, STATS, and WoVVIDEO.

Discover what’s new in the volleyball world.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.