Home » 9 days to go – WCH 2018 W: Russia with most titles, Regla Torres was twice MVP

9 days to go – WCH 2018 W: Russia with most titles, Regla Torres was twice MVP

by WoV

While we are waiting for the start of the World Championship 2018 in Japan, let's take a look at some historical information of the previous editions of the World Champs.

1952. Soviet Union won gold in Moscow


The first World Championship in female category was held in 1952 and until then the women’s teams played 17 tournaments. At the beginning the initial gap between championships was variable, but since 1970 they have been awarded every four years.

Until now, the 17 World Championship tournaments have been won by six different national teams. Russia has won seven times (five as Soviet Union). The other World Championship winners are Japan and Cuba, with three titles each; China, with two titles; and Italy, and USA, with one title each.

The current champions are USA, who won their first title at the 2014 tournament in Italy.

The interesting fact is that in the last five tournaments including this 2018, the Championship has 24 participants while in the past that number was changing a lot. 

For example in 1952 were 8 teams, four years later 17, then 10, 14 even 4 in 1967. From 1974 and next two tournaments, 23 teams participated. From 1986 until 1998 (4 tournaments) there were 16 teams.

Since that Russia participated on almost all championships they are also the Nations with most medals. They won 13 in total (7 gold, 2 silver, 4 bronze). On the second place are Japan with 7 medals (3 g, 3 s, 1 b) while the third place share China and USA with 5 medals. China have 2 gold, 3 silver while USA 1 gold, 2 silver and 2 bronze.

It’s a little weird but Brazil are sharing fourth place with Cuba. The teams won 4 medals in the history of the competition but Cuba were more successfully. They won 3 gold medals and 1 silver while Brazil until now won only 3 silvers and 1 bronze.

When we talk about hosts of the tournaments, Japan is in the first place. This year that will be the 5th time that Japan is organizers of the World Championship. They started in 1967, 1998, 2006, 2010 and 2018. Russia organized three times a long time ago same as Brazil who were hosts in 1960 and 1994.

Regla Torres


Since 1982, every next competition had its own MVP and only Regla Radameris Torres was twice announced for the Most Valuable Player of the World Champs (1994 and 1998). But, the first ever MVP was Lang Ping, a former player of China and now the successful head coach of China with whom she won the last Olympic Games in Rio. If we turned back to the last edition of the WCH, that was American attacker Kimberly Hill.

From the host team, only Yoshie Takeshita was awarded in 2016 when Japan finished on the 6th place!


SUBSCRIBE to have full access to WoV PROFILES, STATS, and WoVVIDEO.


Since you are here…

…we have a small favor to ask. WorldofVolley is one of the most popular volleyball websites in the world that provides many volleyball news daily. We are covering many worldwide competitions, trying to inform all of our fans by publishing the breaking news.

We have more than 50,000 profiles of professional volleyball players, coaches, scouts, clubs, national teams and manager, Interviews, Stories, Stats, Job Market, games, results, livescore…

Since we want to keep our future much secure, consider this donate button as a way to support our work and to help us grow.


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.