Home » IRN M: After 3 seasons, Iran gets new titleholders – Varamin win finals over Saipa

IRN M: After 3 seasons, Iran gets new titleholders – Varamin win finals over Saipa

by WoV
source: Photo: Saeed Bahraamizaadeh/volleyball.ir

Shahrdari Varamin won the title in the 2018/19 Iranian men’s volleyball Super League.



By beating No.7 Saipa Tehran in Game 3 of the playoff finals, the top seed Varamin lifted the Iranian championship (the 32nd edition) trophy for the second time in the club’s history. Just like in Game 2, which was interrupted in a bizarre way, Varamin beat their rivals on the road. This time it was 3-0 (25-22, 25-23, 25-22) and a 2-1 in the series. Thus, Varamin ended three-year domination of Sarmayeh Bank who did not have a chance to win their fourth gold medal in a row knowing that they shut down at the end of the last season.

According to the media in the country, the opposite hitter Mohammad Mohammadkazem was the most deserving player for the winning side in a decisive game, alongside with the 39-year-old setter Parviz Pezeshki.

The first national title came for Varamin in 2013 under the guidance of a famous Italian head coach Daniele Bagnoli.


Since you are here…

…we have a small favor to ask. WorldofVolley is one of the most popular volleyball websites in the world that provides many volleyball news daily. We are covering many worldwide competitions, trying to inform all of our fans by publishing the breaking news.

Since we want to keep our future much secure, consider this donate button as a way to support our work and to help us grow.


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.