Home » CAVB M: Sfax of Tunisia take title in Men’s African Club Championship

CAVB M: Sfax of Tunisia take title in Men’s African Club Championship

by WoV
source: fivb.org

Five-time champions Sfax of Tunisia claimed the gold medal at the 2013 Men’s African Club Championship with a 3-2 (23-25, 25-22, 25-15, 27-29, 15-12) victory over compatriots Esperance in the final on Saturday. This and other volleyball news read on Worldofvolley.com.


Sfax of Tunisia

The win earned them a place in October’s 2013 FIVB World Championship in Brazil.

Sfax improved their record in the top African club competition to six trophies, second only to Egyptian club Ahly’s 10 trophies.

Al Ahly Tripoli secured the bronze medal after beating Prisons (Kenya) 3-0 (25-17, 26-24, 25-16) in the third-place match.

FAP clinched fifth position as they edged Ahli Benighazi of Libya 3-2 (25-20, 21-25, 25-21, 24-26, 18-16).

Swehli (Libya) finished in seventh position as they overcame Autoridade Tributaria (Mozambique) 3-1 (25-12, 25-11, 22-25, 25-17).

The exciting final saw Esperance gain the upper hand in the first set, using the efficient spikes of Saleh Fathy and the blocking of Bilel Benhassine. Sfax came back strongly through their experienced spiker Noureddine Hfaidh to win the second set 25-22 and then the third by a wider margin of 25-15. The fourth set was the most exciting as Esperance saved three match points to win the set 29-27 and even the scores thanks to the leadership of experienced setter Mehdi Ben Sheikh. The tiebreak was again controlled by the experience of the Sfax players and they took it 15-12.

Individual prizes

MVP: Noureddine Hfaedh (Sfax)
Best spiker: Fuad Elmaarug (Ahli Tripoli).
Best blocker: Mohamed Salama (Ahli Benighazi)
Best Server: Daniel (Prisons)
Best Receiver: Saleh Fathy (Esperance)
Best Setter: Mehdi Ben Sheikh (Esperance)
Best Libero: Anouar Taouarghi (Sfax) 

Final Standings

1. Sfax (Tunisia)
2. Esperance (Tunisia)
3. Ahli Tripoli (Libya)
4. Prisons (Kenya)
5. FAP (Cameroon)
6. Ahly Benighazi (Libya)
7. Swehli (Libya)
8. Autoridade Tributaria (Mozambique)
9. Bourj Bouaririj (Algeria)
10. Delta Spikers (Nigeria)
11. Nemostars (Uganda)
12. Alnahda (Sudan)
13. AUC (Ivory Coast)
14. Muger Cement (Ethiopia)
15. Muzinga (Burundi)
16. DGSP (Congo Brazzaville)
17. Daim Mahad (Sudan)

To read more news from this competition click on latest news.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.