Home » CEV announce pools for European Olympic Qualifiers – scary Pool B!

CEV announce pools for European Olympic Qualifiers – scary Pool B!

by WoV
source: cev.lu; Photo: cev.lu

The 2015 CEV European Championship in Italy and Bulgaria is already history. The next major volleyball tournament is Olympic Games Qualification in both competitions, in January. The European Volleyball Confederation (CEV) announced the composition of the pools for this event. Check out Pool B in both competitions where we will see reruns of Eurovolley 2015 semifinals!



The eight participating teams in the continental Olympic Qualifications were seeded according to their position in the latest CEV ranking list (men and women) which was released earlier this week for men and at the beginning of October for women.

Italy (men) and Serbia (women) already secured their qualification to Rio 2016 by claiming second places at the FIVB World Cup.

The winners of these qualifiers will book their ticket to the Rio 2016 Olympics while the runners-up and third-placed teams will go to the World Qualifier in May/June 2016.

The eight participating teams were split into two pools of four each as follows:

Men (Qualification tournament in Berlin, January 5-10)

Pool A: Germany (the hosts), Poland, Serbia, Belgium

Pool B: Russia, Bulgaria, France, Finland

Women (Qualification tournament in Ankara, January 4-9):

Pool A: Turkey (the hosts), Germany, The Netherlands, Croatia 

Pool B: Russia, Italy, Belgium, Poland


To back in front page of news click on News.

Also, you can leave your comment on WoVForum.

For more articles click on Latest news.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.