Home » Canada Triumphs Over Brazil to Clinch First Pan American Gold

Canada Triumphs Over Brazil to Clinch First Pan American Gold

by WoV
source: NORCECA

GUADALAJARA, Mexico – Canada celebrated a historic victory as they defeated Brazil 3-1 (26-24, 20-25, 25-23, 25-22) to clinch their maiden gold medal at the XVI Men’s Senior Pan American Volleyball Cup. This victory was especially sweet for Canada, who had previously missed out on the gold in three separate years (2008, 2009, 2022) and had settled for bronze on three other occasions.

Brazil vs Canada – Photo: NORCECA

Earlier encounters had seen Canada falling to Brazil during pool-play. This time, however, with Isaac Heslinga leading the Canadians with a score of 13 points and support from Byron Keturakis and Logan House, both contributing 9 points each, Canada emerged victorious. Darlan Ferreira from Brazil put up an impressive score of 24 points, with Victor Almeida adding another 11.

Statistics showcased Canada’s dominance with 8-3 in blocking and 4-1 in service points. However, Brazil took the lead in attacking points with a count of 59-52. Canada maintained a slight edge, committing one less error than their opponents (31-32).

Daniel Lewis, the Canadian coach, praised his team saying, “Last year’s loss to Cuba was tough, but the team followed this year’s work plan diligently and the result is the gold medal.”

Meanwhile, Chile secured its first Pan American medal, edging out Mexico 3-0 (25-22, 27-25, 25-22) and claiming third place. Despite the roaring fans in Arena Astros in Guadalajara, Chile managed to hold their nerve, adjusting brilliantly during the decisive moments of the match.


Canada’s Isaac Heslinga was the star of the tournament, being named the Most Valuable Player (MVP). Heslinga stood out, particularly in the final against Brazil, where he contributed a pivotal 14 points.

Brazil, despite being runners-up, didn’t go unrecognized. Darlan Ferreira received accolades for Best Server and Best Opposite, while Matheus Silva was acknowledged as the Best Setter. Mexico’s Axel Téllez and Hiram Bravo were also recognized for their skills, with awards for Second Best Blocker, Best Libero, and Best Defense.

Other individual awards went to José Miguel Gutiérrez of Cuba (Second Best Attacker), Alain Gorguet also of Cuba (Best Receiver), Wilfrido Hernández from the Dominican Republic (First Best Attacker), Daniel Urueña of Peru (First Best Blocker), and Vicente Parraguirre of Chile, who clinched the title of the tournament’s Best Scorer.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.