Home » RUS M: Top teams at Viacheslav Platonov Memorial

RUS M: Top teams at Viacheslav Platonov Memorial

by WoV

The 2014/2015 campaign of Russia’s champions Zenit KAZAN will start in late August with the Viacheslav Platonov Memorial Tournament scheduled for August 27-31 in Saint Petersburg. The two-time winners of the CEV Volleyball Champions League joined the competition held in memory of the legendary Soviet coach also last year but failed to make it through the preliminary rounds.



The 2014 edition of the Platonov Memorial Tournament will feature once again eight teams that were divided into two preliminary pools of four each. Five of the eight teams that had competed last year in Saint Petersburg are coming back. Ukraine’s Lokomotiv KHARKIV was replaced by Latvia’s champions RTU RIGA, Belarus’ national team by their respective national champions Stroitel MINSK whereas Yaroslavich YAROSLAVL’s spot was taken by the winners of the inaugural Platonov Memorial Tournament, Dinamo LENINGRAD REGION.

The late Viacheslav Platonov was at the helm of the Soviet national team that won gold at the 1980 Olympics in Moscow; he also steered the former Soviet Union to a gold medal at the 1978 and 1982 World Championships in Italy and Argentina as well as to six European crowns (1977, 1979, 1981, 1983, 1985, and 1991). Platonov was inducted into the Volleyball Hall of Fame in 2002 and prematurely passed away in 2005, aged 66.


For more news from this country click on Russia.

Also, you can leave your comment on WoVForum.

For more articles click on Latest news.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.