Home » USA W: Big Ten teams dominate NCAA’s Regular Season, reigning champions Nebraska top seed (BRACKET)

USA W: Big Ten teams dominate NCAA’s Regular Season, reigning champions Nebraska top seed (BRACKET)

by WoV
source: ncaa.com, espn.com; Photo: Aaron Babcock/hailvarsity.com

The NCAA Women’s Division 1 Volleyball Championship this season seems to be all about Big Ten (The Big Ten Conference, formerly Western Conference and Big Nine Conference, the oldest Division I collegiate athletic conference in the United States).



It will be decided in Big Ten territory (Nationwide Arena, Columbus, Ohio) and is so close to become a mini-Big Ten tournament since Big Ten teams took top three spots at the end of Regular Season which ended on November 27 – Nebraska, Minnesota and Wisconsin respectively. Besides grabbing top thee spots, Big Ten schools also have 6 of top 16 seeds in total. Still, this does not surprise NCAA experts nor the fans because Big Ten has produced eight of the past 10 NCAA Women’s Volleyball champions**.

Nebraska are defending NCAA champions who claimed the title in Big Ten Conference as well by defeating Michigan 3-1.

The „ESPN“ highlighted these early-round duels as the best to watch:

USC vs. Hawaii, first round

Kentucky vs. Colorado State, first round

Purdue vs. Iowa State, first round

Florida vs. Florida State, second round

Penn State vs. Dayton, second round

Texas A&M vs. Texas, second round

The NCAA has announced a 64-team bracket. Early single-elimination rounds (First and Second are scheduled for December 1-3 at 16 non-predetermined campus sites) while the Regional single-elimination semis and finals will be played on December 9-10 (at four non-predetermined campus sites which will be announced after play concludes). National semifinals are on December 15 while grand finale is set for December 17. They will all be played at Nationwide Arena, Columbus, Ohio.

Check out NCAA Women’s Division 1 Volleyball Championship bracket (numbers in front of teams’ names mark their  seed) and timetable.


**During the previous 35 years of the championship 10 schools have won a national title, eight of which earned a place in this year’s bracket.

Previous winners are: UCLA (1984, 1990, 91, 2011), University of Hawaii, Manoa (1982, 83, 87), Nebraska (1995, 2000, 06, 15), University of Southern California (1981, 2002, 03), Stanford (1992, 94, 96, 97, 2001, 04), Penn State (1999, 2007, 08, 09, 10, 13, 14), Texas (1988, 2012) and University of Washington (2005).


Check out other news from USA.

Subscribe to have full access on WoV PROFILES, STATS and WoVVIDEO.

Receive email notifications about players’ or teams’ latest STATS and VIDEOS.

Discover what’s new in volleyball world.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.