Home » AVC M: China defeated Qatar and advanced to the semifinals of the Asian Championship

AVC M: China defeated Qatar and advanced to the semifinals of the Asian Championship

by WoV
source: AVC

On the last day of the quarterfinal stage at the Asian Championship, we got the third semifinalist of the tournament. After Chinese Taipei and Iran advanced from Group F, China is the third semifinalist of the competition.

Photo: AVC

In a dramatic and exciting match, China defeated Qatar 3-2 (28-26, 21-25, 26-28, 25-19, 15-10) and became the first semifinalist from Pool E. After an unexpected defeat in the preliminary stage against Australia, China managed to secure the semifinal matches with two victories in the next phase of the competition. Match between Japan and Australia will determine the second semifinalist and the final ranking in Pool E.

In Pool F, Pakistan beat Korea 3-0 (25-23, 25-22, 25-14), finished third in group and awaits an opponent in matches for 5-8 places from Pool E, who will be known after the match Japan – Australia.

Pool E (Qatar, Australia, China, Japan)

Qatar – Australia 3-0 (25-20, 25-20, 25-21)

Japan – China 1-3 (19-25, 29-27, 21-25, 19-25)

Qatar – China 2-3 (26-28, 25-21, 28-26, 19-25, 10-15)

Japan – Australia

Pool F (Pakistan, Chinese Taipei, Iran, Korea)

Pakistan – Chinese Taipei 1-3 (20-25, 25-22, 23-25, 22-25)

Iran – Korea 3-0 (25-19, 25-18, 25-20)

Pakistan – Korea 3-0  (25-23, 25-22, 25-14)

Iran – Chinese Taipei


Pool G (Kuwait, India, Uzbekistan, Bahrain)

India – Kuwait 3-0 (25-20, 25-20, 25-20)

Bahrain – Uzbekistan 3-0 (25-19, 27-25, 25-19)

India – Uzbekistan 3-0 (25-19, 25-13, 25-22)

Bahrain – Kuwait

Pool H (Thailand, Kazakhstan, Hong Kong, Saudi Arabia)

Thailand – Kazakhstan 1-3 (25-28, 23-25, 19-25, 22-25)

Hong Kong – Saudi Arabia 0-3 (12-25, 18-25, 19-25)

Hong Kong – Kazakhstan 0-3 (16-25, 21-25, 16-25)

Thailand – Saudi Arabia


16 national teams were divided into 4 groups. Hosts Japan, India, Qatar and Bahrain were in Pool A, current Asian champions Iran, Pakistan, Thailand and Hong Kong China in Pool B, Pool C consisted of Australia, China, Uzbekistan and Kuwait, while in Pool D were Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia.

Pool A: Japan, India, Qatar, Bahrain

Pool B: Iran, Pakistan, Thailand, Hong Kong China

Pool C: Australia, China, Uzbekistan, Kuwait

Pool D: Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia

In the 21st edition in Japan, the teams pleyed in a single round-robin format during the preliminary round. The two best teams from each group advanced to the top 8 teams which are divided into group E (A, C) and group F (B, D) to play again in a single round-robin format with transferred results and points from the matches between teams from the same groups that had already played during the preliminary round.The two best teams from Pool E and Pool F will advance to the semifinals, while the other 4 teams will remain in competition from 5th to 8th place. The same game format will be applied to the remaining 8 lower-ranked teams.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.