Home » AVC M: Japan claimed last semifinal spot at the Asian Championships

AVC M: Japan claimed last semifinal spot at the Asian Championships

by WoV
source: AVC

After an unexpected defeat yesterday in the match with China, Japan today showed a stable performance and as the leader of Pool E advanced to the semifinals. Japan defeated Australia 3-0, and in the semifinals they will play against Chinese Taipei, the second-placed team of Pool F. 

Photo: AVC

In Pool F, Iran defeated Chinese Taipei 3-0 and took first place in the standings. Iran will face China in the second semifinal. In the 5th to 8th place matches, Qatar will play against Korea, while Australia will face Pakistan.

Pool E (Qatar, Australia, China, Japan)

Qatar – Australia 3-0 (25-20, 25-20, 25-21)

Japan – China 1-3 (19-25, 29-27, 21-25, 19-25)

Qatar – China 2-3 (26-28, 25-21, 28-26, 19-25, 10-15)

Japan – Australia 3-0 (25-23, 25-17, 25-23)

Pool F (Pakistan, Chinese Taipei, Iran, Korea)

Pakistan – Chinese Taipei 1-3 (20-25, 25-22, 23-25, 22-25)

Iran – Korea 3-0 (25-19, 25-18, 25-20)

Pakistan – Korea 3-0  (25-23, 25-22, 25-14)

Iran – Chinese Taipei 3-0 (25-10, 25-23, 25-11)


Pool G (Kuwait, India, Uzbekistan, Bahrain)

India – Kuwait 3-0 (25-20, 25-20, 25-20)

Bahrain – Uzbekistan 3-0 (25-19, 27-25, 25-19)

India – Uzbekistan 3-0 (25-19, 25-13, 25-22)

Bahrain – Kuwait 3-0 (25-21, 25-19, 25-19)

Pool H (Thailand, Kazakhstan, Hong Kong, Saudi Arabia)

Thailand – Kazakhstan 1-3 (25-28, 23-25, 19-25, 22-25)

Hong Kong – Saudi Arabia 0-3 (12-25, 18-25, 19-25)

Hong Kong – Kazakhstan 0-3 (16-25, 21-25, 16-25)

Thailand – Saudi Arabia 1-3 (20-25, 25-20, 19-25, 22-25)


16 national teams were divided into 4 groups. Hosts Japan, India, Qatar and Bahrain were in Pool A, current Asian champions Iran, Pakistan, Thailand and Hong Kong China in Pool B, Pool C consisted of Australia, China, Uzbekistan and Kuwait, while in Pool D were Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia.

Pool A: Japan, India, Qatar, Bahrain

Pool B: Iran, Pakistan, Thailand, Hong Kong China

Pool C: Australia, China, Uzbekistan, Kuwait

Pool D: Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia

In the 21st edition in Japan, the teams played in a single round-robin format during the preliminary round. The two best teams from each group advanced to the top 8 teams which are divided into group E (A, C) and group F (B, D) to play again in a single round-robin format with transferred results and points from the matches between teams from the same groups that had already played during the preliminary round.The two best teams from Pool E and Pool F will advance to the semifinals, while the other 4 teams will remain in competition from 5th to 8th place. The same game format will be applied to the remaining 8 lower-ranked teams.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.