Home » How to qualify for the Olympic Games 2020 volleyball tournament? One place already guaranteed!

How to qualify for the Olympic Games 2020 volleyball tournament? One place already guaranteed!

by WoV

The qualification system for the volleyball tournament at the Olympic Games 2020 has been confirmed by the FIVB.

Volleyball tournaments Olympic Games Tokyo 2020

Volleyball tournaments Olympic Games Tokyo 2020

It is certain that 12 teams will compete in men’s tournament and 12 teams in women’s tournament at the Olympic Games. The system of the qualifiers is the same for both.

One place is guaranteed for the host Japan, so there are 11 free spaces for the event.

Unlike the World Championship, the head coaches will have to invite only 12 players per team for the Olympic Games.

The first qualifying tournaments will be held in 2019. There will be six intercontinental Olympic Qualification Tournaments. The exact dates and hosts have not determined yet.

Participants: Twenty-four (24) highest ranked National Federations as per the FIVB World Ranking as of 1st January 2019, not yet qualified.

Competition format: twenty-four (24) teams shall be placed into six (6) pools of four (4) teams each using the serpentine system.

The serpentine system is a method employed in the organization of a competition to define the seeded teams and arrange them in pools. The (number) ranked teams that will be involved in the tournament are distributed in pools according to the following algorithm:

POOL A: Ranking 1, Ranking 12, Ranking 13, Ranking 24

POOL B: Ranking 2, Ranking 11, Ranking 14, Ranking 23

POOL C: Ranking 3, Ranking 10, Ranking 15, Ranking 22

POOL D: Ranking 4, Ranking 9, Ranking 16, Ranking 21

POOL E: Ranking 5, Ranking 8, Ranking 17, Ranking 20

POOL F: Ranking 6, Ranking 7, Ranking 18, Ranking 19

The top place team of each Pool will earn one spot at the Olympic Games tournament.

So, these six tournaments will determine six participants for the Olympic Games and there will be five more places left.

Then, there will be FIVE Continental Olympic Qualification tournaments (January 2020), one in each confederation:

AVC (Asia), CAVB (Africa), CEV (Europe), CSV (South America), Norceca (North and Central America).

The teams that already obtained one place for the Olympic Games through an Intercontinental Olympic Qualification tournament will not be able to participate in the Continental Olympic Qualification Tournament.

The highest placed national teams of each of the five Continental Olympic Qualification Tournament will earn one place for the Olympic Games.



Since you are here…

…we have a small favor to ask. WorldofVolley is one of the most popular volleyball websites in the world that provides many volleyball news daily. We are covering many worldwide competitions, trying to inform all of our fans by publishing the breaking news.

We have more than 50,000 profiles of professional volleyball players, coaches, scouts, clubs, national teams and manager, Interviews, Stories, Stats, Job Market, games, results, livescore…

Since we want to keep our future much secure, consider this donate button as a way to support our work and to help us grow.



Related Articles

0 comment

DCH October 22, 2018 - 9:32 am

In Women’s competition Netherlands (6) will face Italy (7), Mexico (18) and Azerbaijan (19). Very strange to see the numbers 2 and 4 of the WCH in the same poule.


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.