Home » AVC M: Qatar advanced to top 8 teams in Asian Championship, Chinese Taipei beat Korea

AVC M: Qatar advanced to top 8 teams in Asian Championship, Chinese Taipei beat Korea

by WoV
source: AVC

After today’s matches, the third day of the competition at the Asian Championships in Japan, the preliminary phase of the competition ended. The only uncertainty and open situation for entering the top 8 teams phase was in Pool A where Qatar and Bahrain competed to advance to the next stage of the competition. Qatar beat Bahrain 3-0 and placed among the top 8 teams, while Bahrain will enter the competition phase for placement from 9th to 16th place. Qatar, Japan, Iran, China, Korea, Chinese Taipei, Pakistan and Australia secured their place in the top 8 teams of the Asian Championship.

Sadikh Nadir Ababacar (QAT) in attack – Photo: AVC

Among other results of the day, we emphasize the victory of Australia over China 3-2 in the fight for the top of the table in Pool C and the surprise made by the team of Chinese Taipei with the victory over Korea 3-1 for the top of pool D.

September 14, 2021 – Schedule

Pool A
Bahrain – Qatar 0-3 (19-25, 20-25, 24-26)
India – Japan 0-3 (15-25, 15-25, 18-25)

Pool B
Iran – Pakistan 3-0 (25-20, 25-19, 25-15)
Hong Kong – Thailand 1-3 (22-25, 25-17, 27-29, 18-25)

Pool C
Uzbekistan – Kuwait 1-3 (27-29, 25-16, 21-25, 21-25)
Australia – China 3-2 (25-27, 20-25, 25-21, 28-26,15-12)

Pool D

Saudi Arabia – Kazakhstan 3-0 (25-23, 25-21, 25-23)
Korea – Chinese Taipei 1-3 (25-23, 21-25, 20-25, 21-25)


16 national teams divided into 4 groups are participating in the 21st edition of the Asian Championship. Hosts Japan, India, Qatar and Bahrain are in Pool A, current Asian champions Iran, Pakistan, Thailand and Hong Kong China in Pool B, Pool C consists of Australia, China, Uzbekistan and Kuwait, while in Pool D are Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia.

Pool A: Japan, India, Qatar, Bahrain

Pool B: Iran, Pakistan, Thailand, Hong Kong China

Pool C: Australia, China, Uzbekistan, Kuwait

Pool D: Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia

In the 21st edition in Japan, the teams will play in a single round-robin format during the preliminary round. The two best teams from each group will advance to the top 8 teams which will be divided into group E (A, C) and group F (B, D) to play again in a single round-robin format with transferred results and points from the matches between teams from the same groups that had already played during the preliminary round.The two best teams from Pool E and Pool F will advance to the semifinals, while the other 4 teams will remain in competition from 5th to 8th place. The same game format will be applied to the remaining 8 lower-ranked teams.

The Continental Championship is also a qualifying tournament for the World Championship in Russia next year. Two first-placed teams from the continental tournament will qualify for the World Championship. The two best teams from five Continental Championships will secure a place at the 2022 World Championship. The remaining 12 places will go to the top 12 teams according to the FIVB World Rankings for teams that have not yet qualified, while the host country Russia and current world champions Poland automatically qualified for the competition.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.