Home » VINTAGE VOLLEYBALL: This serve has changed the volleyball rules! (VIDEO)

VINTAGE VOLLEYBALL: This serve has changed the volleyball rules! (VIDEO)

by WoV

Let’s go back to 1999 and the European Championship for a while…

During the game European Championship 1999 semifinal game, Italy played vs. Yugoslavia!

At the result 22-21 in the fourth set for Italy, Vladimir Grbic scored an ace to tie the score, however, the referee decided to give the point to Italy, explaining that the ball touched the net. According to that rules, if the ball touches the net from the serve, the opposite side gets the point.

Later, Italy won the game and in the final took the gold medal. 

The Yugoslavian team watched the video again after the end of the championship and confirmed that there was no touch of the net.

After this serve, the FIVB decided to change the serve rule!

 

Watch other interesting videos from the past by visiting VINTAGE VOLLEYBALL.

Subscribe to have full access to WoV PROFILES, STATS and WoVVIDEO.

Receive email notifications about players’ or teams’ latest STATS and VIDEOS.

Discover what’s new in the volleyball world.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment