Home » ESP W: La Laguna lift their first-ever Spanish league title

ESP W: La Laguna lift their first-ever Spanish league title

by WoV

The end of the final series of the 2021/22 Spanish Women’s Volleyball Championship marked a historical result for Sanaya Libby’s La Laguna.

La Laguna (Photo: rfevb.com)

Sanaya Libby’s La Laguna won their first Spanish league title by defeating CV Gran Canaria Urbaser 3-0 in Game 4 of the 2021/22 Liga Iberdrola playoff finals. The team from Tenerife got the double crown, after winning the national cup in February, in an intense challenge exactly against the team from Gran Canaria.

The losing side dominated the whole fourth final match but somehow remained empty-handed in all sets. Gran Canaria were up by 8-4 in the first set, 21-18 in the second set, and 19-13 in the third set! Cuban Lisbet Arredondo was the most deserving player for La Laguna’s constant successful comebacks today, scoring 17 points. She was named MVP of the finals. Patricia Llabrés made 82% reception (28 digs, 71% excellent).

2021/22 Liga Iberdrola – playoff finals:

Playoff results

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.