Home » PUR W: Criollas de Caguas win historical fourth national title in a row

PUR W: Criollas de Caguas win historical fourth national title in a row

by WoV
source: fedpurvoli.com; Photo: lascriollasdecaguas.com

Criollas de Caguas made history of the Puerto Rican Women’s volleyball by winning their fourth national championship (Liga Voleibol Superior Femenino - LVSF) title in a row.




Criollas beat Valencianas de Juncos in straight sets in the fourth game of the playoff finals (4-0 in series), partially 25-11, 25-15, 25-16. Thus, they grabbed fourth championship trophy in a row and also 12th in total.

Purdue University graduate Annie Drews scored 15 points, while Regular Season MVP Karina Ocasio added 13 for the new champions. In Juncos, former student of the University of Nebraska–Lincoln, Tara Mueller, made 14 points.

The fourth championship gold in a row makes Criollas only the third team in the history of Puerto Rican Women’s volleyball to win at least four consecutive titles. Pinkin de Corozal and Radiólogas de Arecibo have previously succeeded to do the same.

Criollas middle blocker Ana Sofía Jusino was chosen Most Valuable Player of the finals, becoming the first LVSF rookie to get this kind of award.


Subscribe to have full access to WoV PROFILES, STATS and WoVVIDEO.

Receive email notifications about players’ or teams’ latest STATS and VIDEOS.

Discover what’s new in a volleyball world.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment