Home » BEL M: Roeselare celebrate 13th Belgian title

BEL M: Roeselare celebrate 13th Belgian title

by WoV

Knack Roeselare have been crowned the Belgian men’s volleyball club champions for the second season in a row.

Roeselare (Photo: facebook.com/KnackVolleyRoeselare)

Winning the 2021/22 EuroMillions Volley League, Knack Roeselare became the Belgian champion for the 13th time in club history. After prevailing over Decospan Volley Team Menen in the first two games of the playoff finals, the titleholders also won the third match of the series: all three with a score of 3-0. Matthijs Verhanneman and Mathijs Desmet scpred 12 points apiece for Roeselare in Game 3. Dennis Deroey had 92% reception (12 digs, 42% excellent).

Prior to the last 2 years, the club from the Flemish province won the national title in 1989, 2000, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2017. Maaseik, who surprisingly failed to reach the finals (finished 3rd in the winners stage that preceded the title face-off), is still the record champion with 16 titles. Interestingly, the last time that the Belgian Men’s Championship wasn’t won by Roeselare or Maaseik was in 1994. Then Zellik became champion for the third time in a row.

2021/22 EuroMillions Volley League – playoff finals:

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.