Home » Grand Champions Cup and age group WCHs presented

Grand Champions Cup and age group WCHs presented

by WoV
source: fivb.org

The representatives from the organising committees of the FIVB World Grand Champions Cup in Japan and the age-group FIVB World Championships scheduled for next year, presented their updated reports to the World Congress on Friday morning in Anaheim, USA, confirming the respective dates of the competitions.


Delagates at the World Congress received the reports from the organisers of next year’s world championships

Each one of them showed videos of the playing venues, hotels for players and officials and other facilities including transportation.

Following the traditional format, six teams – Japan as host country, four continental champions and a wild card – are expected to play in the Grand Champions Cup in both genders. Those sides will compete under a round-robin format in November of 2013.

Twenty teams made up of the blue chip prospects of the future –an increase of four compared to previous events- are scheduled to compete in the age-group championships and, according to the competition format, sixteen of the teams will play eight matches and the last four will contest seven matches in a 10-day period.

The Women’s Grand Champions Cup is scheduled in the cities of Nagoya and Tokyo while the Men’s Grand Champions Cup will take place in Kyoto and Tokyo. The dates will be confirmed at the nect Sports Events Council.

The Men’s Junior World Championship (Under-21) will be in the cities of Ankara and Izmir in Turkey while Brno and Prosthejov in the Czech Republic are to receive the teams competing in the Women’s Junior World Championship (Under-20).

The cities of Mexicali and Tijuana in Baja California, Mexico will welcome the participants in the Boy’s Youth World Championship (Under-19), while the Girl’s Youth World Championship will take place in Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand.

Meanwhile, six cities from seven candidates will host the 24 teams to participate in the 2014 FIVB Women’s World Championship to be played in Italy. The event will be played during a 17- day period including five days of rest.

The event will open in Rome and will be conclude in Milano. The five other candidate cities are: Verona, Trieste, Modena, Ancona and Bari.

The 2014 FIVB Men’s World Championship in Poland will visit Bydgoszcz, Katowice, Krakow, Gdansk, Lodz and Wroclaw.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.