Home » Dates and venues for 2022 VNL determined, Philippines hosts for first time

Dates and venues for 2022 VNL determined, Philippines hosts for first time

by WoV
source: fivb.com

The International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) has formalized the pools and gaming venues for the 2022 edition of the Volleyball Nations League.

VNL 2021

As per FIVB, the women’s tournament of the VNL 2022 will start on May 31, while the men’s tournament will start on June 7.

The new formula, approved in recent months by the governing body of world volleyball, enables the participation of 16 teams (male and female) in the first phase, divided into two groups of eight that will compete over six days of competitions (from Tuesday to Friday) for three weeks. With the new format, therefore, each team will play a total of 12 games and the alternation between the men’s and women’s draw will be guaranteed, thus allowing a one-week interval between events. Subsequently, the event will continue for the Top 4 in each group with the quarter-finals, semifinals, and the medal day.

Women’s tournament

Week 1 (May 31 – June 5)

Ankara (Turkey): Italy, Belgium, Serbia, Thailand, Turkey, China, Russia, Netherlands.

Bossier City (USA): USA, Brazil, Japan, Dominican Republic, Germany, Poland, Korea South, Canada.

Week 2 (June 14 – 19)

Brasília (Brazil): Brazil, Turkey, Dominican Republic, Netherlands, Italy, Germany, Serbia, South Korea.

Pasay (Philippines): USA, China, Japan, Russia, Belgium, Poland, Thailand, Canada.

Week 3 (June 28 – July 3)

Calgary (Canada): Canada, USA, Turkey, Japan, Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Serbia

Ufa (Russia): Russia, China, Brazil, Dominican Republic, Italy, Poland, South Korea, Thailand.

Finals: July 13-17 (venue to be defined).

Men’s tournament

Week 1 (June 7 – 12)

Brasília (Brazil): Brazil, Russia, USA, Slovenia, Japan, Iran, Netherlands, Australia.

Ottawa (Canada): Canada, Poland, France, Serbia, Argentina, Italy, Germany, Bulgaria.

Week 2 (June 21 – 26)

Quezon City (Philippines): Japan, France, Russia, Slovenia, Argentina, Italy, Germany, Netherlands.

Sofia (Bulgaria): Bulgaria, Brazil, Poland, USA, Serbia, Canada, Iran, Australia.

Week 3 (July 5 – 10)

Osaka (Japan): Japan, Brazil, France, USA, Argentina, Canada, Germany, Australia.

Kemerovo (Russia): Russia, Poland, Slovenia, Serbia, Italy, Iran, Netherlands, Bulgaria.

Finals: July 20 – 24 (venue to be defined).

Related Articles

1 comment

Gino Spadari December 8, 2021 - 11:21 pm

Where and when can we buy tickets for the otrawa edition?


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.