Home » SACH M: Brazil suffered scare, but won 29th title

SACH M: Brazil suffered scare, but won 29th title

by WoV
source: esporte.uol.com.br; Photo: CBV

Brazil has shown once again the extensive domination in men's volleyball in South America despite having taken a scare in the fourth set. The team led by Rezende beat Argentina 3-2 in Cabo Frio, and as unbeaten won the 29th South American title.

Vissotto and Lucas block Quiroga

Vissotto and Lucas block Quiroga

It was the fifth consecutive South American championship where Brazil and Argentina made the decisive match of the competition. The Argentines equaled the highest number of runner-up places in a row in the tournament.

Argentina began giving impression that they would make a duel very complicated. The team led by Javier Weber was more consistent and won the first set 25-19.

With a forced serve, Argentina still balanced in the next partial. However, Brazil was more efficient than it was the beginning of the game and beat the rivals 25:20.

The victory in the second set gave more tranquility to Brazil, who won the third period by 25-19. Argentina, on the other hand, proved to be unstable and began to make a lot of mistakes.

In the fourth set, after an attack by Leandro Vissotto, coach Weber complained and took a red card. That left Brazil 24-20 advantage, but the confusion also caused a blackout in the home team. The Argentines made six straight points and closed 26-24.

Rebuilt after the blow, Brazil again hit attacks in the last set. Rezende‘s team was more efficient than in the previous partial and managed to open a large advantage. Then, despite allowing new reaction of Argentines, “canarinhos” won 15-10.

For Brazil, Sidão scored 18, and Wallace 17 points, while Quiroga scored 16 and Crer 13 for Argentina. 

The South American played in 2013 was the 30th in history. Brazil was not the only champion. In the 1964 edition, when they failed to participate, Argentina got the cup.

Besides the title, the South American championship offered two seats to the 2014 World Cup, which will be held in Poland. Argentina and Brazil, which is the current three-time champion of the tournament, will be representatives of South America.

For more news from this competition, click on South American Championship 2013 M.

See the profiles of Brazilian and Argentine national team.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.