Home » GP: Omaha to host Finals of Grand Prix in 2015

GP: Omaha to host Finals of Grand Prix in 2015

by WoV
source: norceca.net; Photo: norceca.net

The city of Omaha, Nebraska in the United States was selected on Sunday to host the Finals of the FIVB World Grand Prix in 2015.


GP 2013

The decision adopted by the FIVB Executive Committee was among the proposals submitted by the Sports Events Council which had met on Friday and Saturday.

Omaha hosted the NORCECA Continental Championship last September and representatives of the city took part as observers in the congress of the confederation held in Tijuana in November where they had the opportunity to meet with FIVB President Dr. Ary S. Graça F°.

The FIVB World Grand Prix is the premier annual women’s volleyball competition, recently expanded to 28 teams, including eight teams to compete in a development group. The best six teams will advance to the Finals.

The World Grand Prix featured eight teams in its debut season of 1993 and from 1995 to 2002, while 12 teams were in action in 1994 and from 2003 to 2010. Sixteen teams were involved in the 2011 and 2012 editions before expanding to 20 in 2013.

To read more news click on Latest news. 

To back in front page of news click on News. 

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.