Home » RUSSIAN CUP M: Preliminary round over, St. Petersburg hosts Final Four

RUSSIAN CUP M: Preliminary round over, St. Petersburg hosts Final Four

by WoV

The first phase of the men’s and women’s 2021 Russian Volleyball Cup ended – the 12 teams per gender qualified for the second round, while Saint Petersburg was chosen to host the Final Four for both genders.

Photo: kazanfirst.ru

The massive preliminary round of the Russian Cup is over and 12 teams booked their places in the second round that precedes Final Four. Actually, not all teams qualified to the next stage via the preliminary round. Some spots in the second stage were predetermined by regulations: the clubs that had at least three players in the Russia National Team engaged in the VNL, the Olympics, or in EuroVolley had the guaranteed passage, taking the opportunity to send teams filled with backups to the matches of the preliminary stage, hence some defeats of favorites.

Group winners of the second phase plus hosts (Zenit St. Petersburg for men and Leningradka for women) will secure spots in F4.


Pool A: Dinamo Moscow, Ural, Yugra-Samotlor, and ASK;

Pool B: Lokomotiv, Fakel, Enisey, and Belogorie;

Pool C: Kuzbass, Zenit-Kazan, Dinamo-LO, and Neftyanik.


Pool A: Lokomotiv, Proton, Dinamo Krasnodar, and freshman Cherepovets;

Pool B: Dinamo Moscow, Minchanka Minsk, Lipetsk, and Dinamo-Metar;

Pool C: Dinamo Ak-Bars, Uralochka, Tulitsa, and Sparta.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.