Home » RIO 2016 M: Did this affect the outcome of finals? Controversial call by referee (VIDEO)

RIO 2016 M: Did this affect the outcome of finals? Controversial call by referee (VIDEO)

by WoV
source: instagram.com/voleyvideo

During the third set of the 2016 Rio Olympics Men’s Volleyball final (at 2-0 and 17-15 for Italy), a controversial referee’s call has occured and, maybe, influenced on the outcome of the match.

 

A video posted by Voleyvideo (@voleyvideo) onAug 22, 2016 at 8:35am PDT


The Best Opposite Hitter of the tournament, Wallace Souza from Brazil, spiked the ball and it went out of bounds. First referee, the Russian Andrey Zenovich, awarded the point to Italy who had 18-15 lead.

But, because the net has shaken, Brazil’s head coach Bernardo Rezende requested video challenge. It showed that Italian Osmany Juantorena touched the net, but he did it because Wallace hit him in the hand. Nevertheless, Zenovich changed his call and awarded a point to Brazil. So, instead of 18-15 it was only 17-16 for Italy.

What do you think on this call?

 

See more interesting videos by visiting section Volleyball Video.

To see standings, results, stats, videos, etc, visit our Olympic Games 2016 M page. 

Subscribe to have full access on WoV PROFILESSTATS VIDEO data base. 

Receive email notification (FOLLOW) about players and teams’ latest STATS and VIDEOS (you need to be registered).

For more articles click on Latest news.

Related Articles

0 comment

Harue Sonoda August 22, 2016 - 11:30 pm

Of course not, because Italy’s players were psychologically weaker than Brasilians . Like Zaytsev said : They allowed Brazil to smell blood.

Reply
Ronnie-D August 23, 2016 - 2:50 am

I believe the ‘Challenge’ has to be improved…

Reply
SAJAN .J.S August 23, 2016 - 5:37 am

Brazil had experienced blockers and great attackers.. The ground support also favourable for them.. Italy was not in a psycological condition to break the brazilian confidence.. Zaytsev also failed to repeat the semi final performance against U.S.A.

Reply
Chris M August 23, 2016 - 8:21 am

Of course it did! Volleyball is such a momentum game and that was a huge momentum turn. May not have decided the match, but it definitely cost the Azzurri the set. Horrible call

Reply
Harrie August 23, 2016 - 10:58 am

Ridiculous call from the referee and very poor sportsmanship of Rezende and his team!

Reply
Luca August 23, 2016 - 11:19 am

Of course it was bad call, it was a scandal. An invasion from Wallace that referees didn’t see? Camon!!!

Reply
Dimitris August 23, 2016 - 12:17 pm

In the opening ceremony, players and coaches gave the oath of sportsmanship.

That, added to the fact that they are the hosts, they (Wallace and coach) should have admitted their fault immediately after the video was shown.

Celebrating such an unfair point just humiliates them.

Reply
KeepCrying August 23, 2016 - 5:17 pm

Mistakes can happen. Even with the Video Challenge in the game the responsibility of interpretation are the referee. Fivb have to rethink about the authority of referees and improve the ‘Challenge’, for example, the options to call certain actions and not the last action of point.

Honestly, I expected that Italy Team did a better game after winning against USA. But They failed to keep the high performance.

Reply
Bahamut August 24, 2016 - 12:49 am

I don’t understand whatppl are complaining about here, the hand that touches the ent is not Wallace’s its Juantorena’s who was blocking and had his hand inside Brazil’s court so it got hit by Wallace, how is this suposed to be a point for Italy ? Wallace did not invade, nor did he hit the net.

Reply
Bahamut August 24, 2016 - 12:51 am

I dont understand how is this suposed to be controversial or a point to Italy ? The hand that touches the net is Juantorena’s who wa sblocking and had his hand indside the brazilain side, so his ahnd got hit by Wallace after the spike and after the ball wa sin the ground. Wallace did not invade nor did he hit the net, how is this suposed to be a point for Italy ?

Reply
Chris August 24, 2016 - 5:29 am

It’s the correct call by the rules of the game. Good call by the referees. Check the rule book and you will see this situation in the case book as it happen last year in the Italian pro league.

Reply

Leave a Comment

*

code

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close